I’m not your guru

“well I know there are classes every day but when do YOU teach.”

Oh ego. Don’t you feel so bright and shiny? Ugh…

This is why I don’t always let students know when I’m utilizing a sub. I’m honored and flattered that my students enjoy my classes, but I want them to be on the mat for their own practice, not mine. Plus those silly samskaras sure can get in the way when we start that journey to self.

If you’re here to practice yoga, it doesn’t matter who is in the driver seat. Eventually I hope you realize that you have that role.

As a yoga teacher I’m always reminding my classes I’m a student first. In fact I’m extremely human with *oodles-o-flaws*. I recently heard that yoga teachers become such because we are the most scarred. While this isn’t all true, there is of course a glimmer of validity in those words.

As a student myself, I’m just as guilty of20110919-080149.jpg putting my teachers on godly pedestals. I guess subconsciously I find myself scared my “yoga-high” will cease if I see their humanity… Which is strange because if I stop and think about it, the times I’ve seen the “realness” from them have been some of my biggest learning moments. Why? Because it isn’t that they are human it is that yoga helps them to deal with the dark without forgoing the light. Hand in hand. Balance.

* So don’t call me guru. But do heed the teachings because you hear and feel what your body and mind need.

* Don’t spend your only time on your mat with me. But do come practice with me. I learn from you as you learn from me.

* Don’t see me as your yoga. Your yoga is in you.

Namaste y’all

Jennifer

7 Comments

Filed under Ocho Limbos

7 responses to “I’m not your guru

  1. Very interesting. Yes, we are all our own teachers. Empowering the student to take responsibility for their own body is a main goal, and a huge challenge.

  2. Great reflection, can totally relate, very refreshing to read this. Thanks Jennifer, its great to see asteya in action.

    BTW, when do you teach? 😉 Just kidding…

  3. Elka Harabin

    well – can’t agree entirely . It’s like good therapy . You have to do the work yourself but it does matter who ‘s in the driver’s seat.

    It’s important to get a good – well matched sub because people who have complicated maybe difficult lives are taking the time expense and effort to find their way to your class (and eventually to their own mat ).

    • Jennifer

      I agree that I wouldn’t want to put someone I didn’t feel comfortable with in the “driver’s seat” but ultimately the practice needs to be about more than hyping up the instructor. All too often this piece gets missed.

  4. Great post. I am still learning when I massage. When anyone asks what I do I always say “practice massage” because I still learn all the time too!!

Leave a Reply

