Put some *Glitter* on it!

If that title didn’t make you smile then imagine it in pink sparkly letters dancing across the screen and there ya’ go…

So….shoot me….it’s been a long time. LIKE OVER A MONTH since these fingers have done the walkin’ and this blog has done any talkin’.

¡Aycaramba!

Any-hoo i’m back and ready to sparkle.

The holidays… ‘Nuff said right? Well not really. I’ve been stuck in this place of “…hi-ho-hi-ho it’s off to work she goes…” Trudgin’ through life, just trying to see the end in sight, losing myself and my authentic practice in the process. OK, so maybe it isn’t that dramatic, but it started to feel like it when BOOM. The universe opened up four times in one week and said “uhm, really?”

BOOM 1: Cold, laryngitis, exhaustion…bad equation.

Not much to say other than after 2 weeks of a down hill sliiiiiide I had to stop and take 2 days to chill (well as much as I could) and try to heal! Stressful? a little bit for a girl who needs to work to make the mula. Necessary, absolutely!

BOOM 2: During my sitting practice this mantra kept throwing itself my direction: “you are a vessel through which the river of life flows.”

Really? b/c I sure don’t feel very flowy right now. Nonetheless I took it as a cue to observe and I started to work on this in my practice…trying to not let my job, my relationships, my bank account, even my asana practice DEFINE ME. I am not these things. I am what happens when I use these things to see more clearly to the core of my “self”…that’s a whole other post for a whole other day though. Suffice to say I became a little less rigid and a lot more open this week.

BOOM 3: my teacher opened up her mouth and words came out that hit home: “Currency comes in more than one form”

Oh that piece. So you mean I can make money but still be paying out? I can fill up my schedule with tasks and jobs and classes and more and i’m still losing currency? It all goes back to  *Booms* 1 and 2. Run yourself ragged ,Jennifer, and you will get sick (see physical currency). Ignore the center, Jennifer, and you will have crazy mantras presented to you from the universe that make you stop and listen (see emotional, spiritual currency). So chill out, and appreciate what you have RIGHT HERE and RIGHT NOW.

BOOM 4: a pink and precious bundle of prana shone her wisdom on me once again and I said, “umm OK I get it all now.”

Talking to my friend and fellow teacher  in class today it all came full circle. Leilani is one of those people who attracts others like the sun to a drooping flower. You can’t help but throw a mat next to her and open up. So I did and this is what came out. We were talking about life, and the pushing, and the striving, and the needing to slow down (see booms 1,2,3) when she stopped and said something to the effect of “I made a new pact with myself recently, and that was no matter where I am, who i’m with, what i’m doing, i’m going to throw some glitter on the situation.” Seeing her there all animated, and bright, and full of JOY, I knew these weren’t just words. I felt that glitter coming from her and sprinkling down on me and I said “THAT is what it’s all about”

The Glitter Button: press to spread the joy

So in a somewhat winded explanation of my week’s progression that is the point friends. Slow down, bask in the good stuff, take care of yourself and throw glitter on it whenever possible, and guess what, it’s ALWAYS possible! Off to throw some sparkles on my dinner and night off with the fiancé and the pups. Love to you all during this holiday season 🙂

Jennifer

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.” Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Dose of..., Ocho Limbos

One response to “Put some *Glitter* on it!

  1. Pingback: 2011′s greatest hits from Cafe Ganesha | Cafe Ganesha

Leave a Reply

